Fuller Figure Styles – at last

Living in South Africa you know that if you are a fuller figure you are going to struggle to find clothes in the shops. So you either have to get somebody to make you clothes (and that makes my hair stand up straight) or be happy with what the shops has to offer. And goodness, apparently when you are a fuller figure you have NO taste either! Here I will name and shame…. Dear Edgars, Donna Claire, Jet Stores and Milady – The fact that I have a bum the size of a small island in the Mediterranean does not mean that I would like to look like one of those hairy men that just stepped of a pleasure cruise onto the Hawaiian beach…. NO NO NO..  And taking a sheet of floral material and cutting a hole for  my head and arms does not count as fashion either…

But don’t give up hope ladies! It seems like there is a movement in the fashion industry. Be it ever so slowly. In 2013 the first ever plus size runway was introduced at New York Fashion Week. VICTORY! So let’s hope that those designers will work their way onto African soil. I’m attaching some of the styles that could be seen on the runway. I’m in love with them! And I might even have to grind my teeth and let somebody make me something similar!

 

1D274906801314-today-plus-size-140918-04_blocks_desktop_medium 1D274906801315-today-plus-size-140918-01_blocks_desktop_medium 1D274906803730-today-plus-size-140918-06_blocks_desktop_medium 1D274906803731-today-plus-size-140918-05_blocks_desktop_medium

Leave a Reply

